Thin Solid Films is an international journal which serves scientists and engineers working in the fields of thin film synthesis, characterization, modelling, and applications. The topical scope of Thin Solid Films reflects a wide range of thin film related themes:

  • Thin film synthesis, with particular emphasis on the control of growth for desired physical properties
  • Surfaces and interfaces
  • Solar energy conversion
  • Catalysis
  • Batteries and other electrochemical devices
  • Metallurgical, protective, and hard coatings
  • Electronics, optics, and opto-electronics
  • Magnetics and magneto-optics
  • Superconductivity

Note to authors
Contributions to Thin Solid Films should concern thin films and their potential applications. Details of film synthesis are required, together with the reproducibility of achieved results. Simulations should always be compared with corresponding original or published experimental data.

Benefits to authors
We also provide many author benefits, such as free PDFs, a liberal copyright policy, special discounts on Elsevier publications and much more. Please click here for more information on our author services.

Please see our Guide for Authors for information on article submission. If you require any further information or help, please visit our Support Center