Journal of Non-Crystalline Solids has an open access mirror journal Journal of Non-Crystalline Solids: X, sharing the same aims and scope, editorial team, submission system and rigorous peer review.

The Journal of Non-Crystalline Solids publishes review articles, research papers, and Letters to the Editor on amorphous and glassy materials, including inorganic, organic, polymeric, hybrid and metallic systems. Papers on partially glassy materials, such as glass-ceramics and glass-matrix composites, and papers involving the liquid state are also included in so far as the properties of the liquid are relevant for the formation of the solid.

In all cases the papers must demonstrate both novelty and importance to the field, by way of significant advances in understanding or application of non-crystalline solids; in the case of Letters, a compelling case must also be made for expedited handling.

Benefits to authors
We also provide many author benefits, such as free PDFs, a liberal copyright policy, special discounts on Elsevier publications and much more. Please click here for more information on our author services.

Please see our Guide for Authors for information on article submission. If you require any further information or help, please visit our Support Center

Editorial board


  • B.G. Potter
    Arizona Materials Lab., University of Arizona, 4715 E. Fort Lowell Rd., Tucson, Arizona, AZ 85712-1201, USA
  • E. D. Zanotto
    Vitreous Materials Lab, DEMa, Universidade Federal de São Carlos, Rod. Washington Luis, Km. 235, 13.565-905 São Carlos, Brazil
  • J.W. Zwanziger
    Dept. of Chemistry, Dalhousie University, 6274 Coburg Road, Halifax, B3H 4R2, Nova Scotia, Canada

Editorial Advisory Board

  • J.L. Adam
    Rennes, France
  • R.M. Almeida
    Lisboa, Portugal
  • R.K. Brow
    Rolla, Missouri, USA
  • G. Dalba
    Povo (Trento), Italy
  • J. Deubener
    Clausthal-Zellerfeld, Germany
  • O. Dymshits
    St. Petersburg, Russian Federation
  • S.R. Elliott
    Cambridge, U.K.
  • M. Ferrari
    Trento, Italy
  • J. Heo
    Pohang, The Republic of Korea
  • H. Hosono
    Yokohama, Japan
  • H. Jain
    Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
  • K. Kelton
    St. Louis, Missouri, USA
  • T. Komatsu
    Nagaoka, Japan
  • J.C. Mauro
    University Park, Pennsylvania, USA
  • Y. Messaddeq
    Quebec, Quebec, Canada
  • C. Pantano
    University Park, Pennsylvania, USA
  • J.R. Qiu
    Guangzhou, China
  • S. Ribeiro
    Araraquara, Brazil
  • C. Rüssel
    Jena, Germany
  • S. Sen
    Davis, California, USA
  • K. Simmons-Potter
    Tucson, Arizona, USA
  • M. Tomozawa
    Troy, New York, USA
  • A.K. Varshneya
    Alfred, New York, USA
  • Y.Z. Yue
    Aalborg, Denmark

Former Editors

  • J.D. Mackenzie (1968-1988)
  • D.L. Kinser (1988-1998)
  • R.A. Weeks (1988-1998)
  • J.H. Simmons (1998-2010)